OK, so it goes like this: "A black guy, a post menopausal woman, a Baptist minister, a libertarian and a POW walk into a bar...." Yeah, it really could be a joke, right? I mean -- really!! 'Cept for in this case, they'd be hand-shaking the patrons - noting like a few drops of alcohol to get the conversation rolling, right? Save perhaps for the Baptist?
I've seen enough elections by this age to be simultaneously fascinated and horrified. Fascinated: by the people, the circumstances, the "hawking" of ideas, what is said and what is not said. Horrified: by ignorance, lack of attention, One-Issue Wonders and plain, ole' bare-knuckles stupidity....
How CAN one be "pro-life" and "pro-death penalty?"
How can a government who values staying out of funding my medical care and my business possibly be so interested in what happens in my uterus? Or my bedroom, for that matter?
Can't certain policies that allow businesses to prosper also reduce competition, don't we call those "monopolies" - yes folks like the game, and weren't they once illegal, on the grounds that they reduce competition?
Why does "spreading the message of Democracy in the world" only seem to apply to parts of that world that have oil, cheap labor, or some other commodity of interest? Simultaneously, why aren't "evildoers" in countries that don't have said commodities left to kill and plunder, while "evildoers" in countries that have something we might be interested in are dealt with?
(I'm feeling a little bit like George Carlin here - sometimes the most obvious things are the ones that you don't question...)
Why is it that decisions made "for the common good" seem now to be "for the common good" of only a few of the common?
Call me a Communist if you will, or a Socialist, or - gasp - insult of insults - a LIBERAL -- but I just don't get it. It's especially troubling whe the Measuring Stick of Religion is applied.
Now, don't get me wrong. I consider myself religious. I believe in God and see God in everyday life; in people, places, and things. I try to do the right thing, but acknowledge that I've "sinned and fall short of the glory of God", and recognize that Jesus is my savior - the one who interceded for me. I realize, like THomas of Jesus' day, that I sometimes need a little proof, and I get it - signed, sealed and delivered - which is totally why I believe in God. And, like many "Conservatives", I believe that, despite the separation of church and state (and it is there, folks, no matter what the 700 Clubber tell you!), what I do, and what "we" do, should be guided somehow by these principles, principles of right and wrong, principles of justice, patience, rewarding what is good, and trying to fix what is wrong.
But here's where the "Mutant Christians" as I affectionately call them and I part ways: HOW we are guided, and who is interpreting those principles! Ah, but isn't that the age old struggle between Man and God - things go well until Man tries to become God's bouncer, and then you have problems...
Who Would Jesus Bomb?, really?
If you listen to the 700 Club, or Rush, or any of the "Tighty Righties", the messages are right there between the lines. Tease them apart, and instead of believing, trusting, having faith, loving others as you do yourself, etc.; you'll get a justifcation of why you're/ why we're better than they are, messages of sexism, racism, intolerance, bigotry, and even - hatred.
These guys need a good dose of humility and a whole lotta reframing of "there but for the grace of God go I...."
Is it just that grey is so hard to swallow, and Black or White is easier? Isn't a lot of faith grey?
If Christian values are indeed guiding the powers that be, instead of cementing tax relief for the wealthy, shouldn't they be selling all that they own and giving the money to the poor? Cuz' "it's easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God". Cuz "when you have done this for the least of these, my brethern, you've done this for Me." And so much more.
But I could rant about the Mutants for hours. It's the One (or Two) Issue Wonder voter...
What about ingnorance and lack of attention?
If you are around children a lot, you may have seen this aspect of human nature in action. An adult will engage a child in a novel activity, in order to stop another behavior that the child is participating in or to prevent them from noticing something. We are distracted. A lot. By: working all the time, socializing, all manner of addictive behavior, television-movies-media-sports, etc. etc. Does anyone really pay attention to what "the adults" - read "our elected officials" are doing?? How many people know EVERYTHING about the teams that played in the Superbowl, and nothing about their own representatives in our democratic process? When that lack of knowledge becomes embarrassing, it's dismissed as "oh, you know. Politicans. They're all the same."
They're not.
While you're being tantalized by sports, Survivor, Lost, Terrorism, The News (it's a product, folks. Designed to sell!), The Latest Trend, Britney, Etc.; your government is being tweaked around the corner.
Pay attention. Our democracy is experiencing technical difficulties. We live in a DEMOCRACY and yet choose to not be involved! That's not just a shame, but selfish and embarrassing.
OK, maybe Britney's not wearing undies, but the Emperor has no clothes.....
Tuesday, February 12, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
